top of page

Thou shalt bury Thy Filth...


I do not feel much like Moses. But I decided to add commandment No.2 to the Modern Engineer's Decalogue.

Mostly, because I'm scared of reckless placing of new atomic power plants, which I generally welcome. So, as I wrote in earlier blogs, there should be an ISO standard for placing them, obligatorily , underground. And other, energy-intensive industries may then freely follow - leaving their wastes and effluents there, hundreds meters underneath. To make our globe cleaner and prettier. There is however not much I can do to influence the things, except for waiting.

In my first job, a design office , many, many years ago I had a good mentor - a senior engineer , twice my age .

So. we once worked on a bigger project together . We sent some drawings to another department for minor author's corrections, but it took exceptionally long. After a few weeks waiting , with our own deadline nearing, I said impatiently : "Sir, it's a small job , I will draw it myself in 2 hours, we shall put the stamp of our division and off with it". But my older colleague said: " No. It's their job. And the designer must write himself out."

"What does it mean: write himself out? " - I demanded. (Does not make much sense in English either.)

"After 30+ years of work in a design office , their minds are like old clocks. They can not jump from 1 o'clock to 5 o'clock just by one movement of the hand. They must go slowly, step-by-step, through every minute of it: from 1 to 2 , to 3 to 4 and finally to 5 o'clock. Just wait.".

I learnt the lesson well. So - I wait .....

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page